Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel is committed to offering our students a holistic Catholic Education in a caring environment conducive to learning and personal development.
It is the aim of our school to provide a programme of education for students that will equip them to meet the challenges that they will face as young adults in the 21st century.Ownership of the school is vested in a trust body called CEIST. This is a grouping of the secondary schools of five religious orders – Daughters of Charity, Presentation Sisters, Sisters of the Christian Retreat, Sisters of Mercy, and Missionaries of the Sacred Heart.
Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel is a proud CEIST (Catholic Education, an Irish Schools Trust) school.
CEIST is the Trustee body for 110 Voluntary Catholic Secondary Schools in Ireland and was formed from five Catholic Religious Congregations who have been engaged in post primary education for over three and a half centuries these congregations are: Daughters of Charity, Presentation Sisters, Sisters of the Christian Retreat, Sisters of Mercy, and Missionaries of the Sacred Heart.
As a CEIST school our values are:
Promoting Spiritual and Human Development
We believe a knowledge of and a personal relationship with Jesus Christ give meaning and purpose to our lives.
Achieving Quality in Teaching and Learning
We are committed to excellence and to continually improving the quality of teaching and learning.
Showing Respect for Every Person
We respect the unique and intrinsic value of every person.
Our schools are faith communities of welcome and hospitality where Gospel values are lived and where there is special care for those most in need.
Being Just and Responsible
We seek to act justly and responsibly in all our relationships.
Discover more about CEIST on their website…
In 1809, Very Rev Thomas Flannery, P.P., Clonmel, invited Presentation Sisters, Waterford, to found a House of their Order in his parish. The founding Sisters were Mother Mary Joseph Sullivan, Mother Mary Peter Ronan and Sister Magadalen Power. They arrived in Clonmel on 2nd October 1813 and the first school opened on January 6th, 1814, beside St Mary’s Church in Irishtown. 500 children were enrolled in the school that year. In 1829, the present site of the Convent and schools was purchased from the landlord, Mr. Moore of Barne. The Sisters moved to the new convent on 12th June, 1829, and, gradually over the following 150 years, the Secondary School developed from the original Primary school.
Many things have changed in the intervening years but there has been one constant i.e. the provision of quality education in a caring environment.
The main school building in use today was constructed in 1980 and completely refurbished during 2007 – 2009, with the addition of the Nagle Hall (Gymnasium) in 1985.